Dump station???

General discussion about Fish Creek Pond. Ask a question, share your camping experience or make suggestions to others.
Len
Camping Equipment: Jayco Qwest pop up
Your Real Name (optional): Len

Dump station???

Postby Len » Wed Nov 16, 2016 2:57 pm

I have a pop-up, so have no experience with the dump station. My father bought a travel trailer and has come with us the last couple years. He is learning the RV ins and outs as he goes being a complete novice as far as RVs go. I didn't realize at first that he wasn't fully using the facilities in his trailer due to concerns about being able to clean the tanks out after. They apparently only do #1 in the camper and put any TP in a waste basket. He says he has some gadget that you can stick down the toilet attached to a hose that cleans the tank after dumping it but the dump station at FCP and any of the other state parks we've gone to together don't have hoses that will reach into the camper for him to wash out his tank after he dumps it, so in order to not leave paper and mess behind caked on his tank sides between trips, he simply doesn't use it. I told him I'm SURE there are other options to clean out his tank satisfactorily, but I don't personally have any experience with the dump stations since I have a pop up.
So.......Is there a water supply at the dump station?
Would something like this "Flush king flush valve" download/file.php?mode=view&id=164 be able to be used to clean the tank at the FCP and other state dump stations? Looks like the link to the pic only works if I'm logged in.

What is it that others do? His concern is that the paper and solids won't completely dump out passively, leaving "stuff" behind in his tank and also fouling up his capacity sensors.
CampADK
Site Admin & Devote FCP Camper
Site Admin & Devote FCP Camper
Years at Fish Creek: 15
Camping Equipment: 13ft Scotty 1976 Cabin Cruiser Reno
Your Real Name (optional): Dave & Kate McGrath
Camp Sign Name (optional): CAMPADK